This content is made available on an as-is, with all faults basis, and the express understanding that we may not control or vet comments collected online. We would encourage you to read 100 reviews to see correlations. 

https://www.glassdoor.co.in/Reviews/Petland-Reviews-E142325.htm

=====================================================================================

6 Feb 2018

“Petland, great place to work”

Current Employee – Anonymous Employee

Recommends

Positive Outlook

I have been working at Petland full-time (More than 10 years)

Pros

Family oriented, fun atmosphere, flexible schedule

Cons

There are no cons for me

=====================================================================================

24 Jan 2018

“Childish manafger”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Edmonton, AB (Canada)

Doesn’t Recommend

I worked at Petland full-time (More than a year)

Pros

Working with animals. extra training classes

Cons

not very professional. Favoritism. Lack of training in certain things

Advice to Management

Keep you home life at home and don’t come in angry and unapproachable

=====================================================================================

14 Dec 2017

“Not Great”

Former Employee – Sales Associate in Dallas, TX (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

Loved the sales aspect.

Cons

Too many puppies coming in sick. Coworkers were rude and my boss even split my paycheck because I was “too young” to live off my wages and I had coworkers who did. I quit on the spot.

=====================================================================================

10 Nov 2017

“Loved it here once”

Former Employee – Sales Associate in Pembroke Pines, FL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time (More than a year)

Pros

You can pay your bills working here if you work hard

Cons

not a steady pay, can be frustrating

Advice to Management

Worry about the sales and sales goals but make sure your employees are also happy working for you.

=====================================================================================

8 Dec 2017

“Terrible management”

Former Employee – Kennel Technician in Columbus, GA (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

I worked at Petland part-time

Pros

The puppies were great and the hours

Cons

Harassed by management , coworkers were called derogatory names . You were demeaned in group chats , ect. Fired that next day after I put in my two weeks . Another girl was fired with me . We were working the shift together and were both fired for no reason . (We wrote a letter to the boss with our notice explaining our reason for leaving and what these managers did to us ) Do not come here . Pay is 7.25 . Not worth the work drama. Only 4 of us kennel staff work. 3 quit and one probably is going to leave .Show Less

Advice to Management

Treat your coworkers With respect ! Stop bullying .

=====================================================================================

9 Nov 2017

“Working with animals is great.”

Current Employee – Pet Counselor in Winnipeg, MB (Canada)

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

You get free pet food once a month which is nice. Animals are fun to care and look after. Training is thorough.

Cons

Sometimes the customers can be pretty nasty and rude, especially when adopting an animal. Pay raise only seems to come with position advancement which isn’t very often. Turn over rate is high so you are expected to be cross trained and available 24-7. The manager doesn’t know what they are doing and the store relies on the other employees to function.

Advice to Management

Store managers need to be looked at.

=====================================================================================

24 Oct 2017

“Kennel”

Current Employee – Kennel Tech in Knoxville, TN (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

If you love animals. You will love this job.

Cons

Open everyday and most holidays.

=====================================================================================

15 Nov 2017

“Don’t work here, you’ll regret it.”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee in Bradenton, FL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Nothing could be given as a pro, the job is horrible. The only pro is to not work here.

Cons

Dog died in my arms, sick animals, roaches and abusive coworkers/bosses to both employees and animals. Puppy mill animals, parvovirus was a constant, I got sick from constant infections from bites and disgusting work environment, I would get chemical burns and inhalation form the bleach. We were not allowed to wear gloves. I had to drop of dead animals constantly to the vet and we kept them in the same fridge that our food was in. It goes on and on. I had nightmares and so much stress it just wasn’t worth.

Advice to Management

You should be shut down, you are terrible people.

=====================================================================================

28 Sep 2017

“Sales Associate”

Current Employee – Pet Counselor

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland full-time (More than 3 years)

Pros

You get to work with animals! Working with baby animals all the time can be great and INSANELY rewarding. It can also be extremely sad should something happen accidentally. It’s an intimate dynamic between the staff and feels almost family-like since there’s only like 20 people on staff, so you get to know each other VERY well. It is a sales position, so it can be very competitive. You learn A TON about animals while working here.Show Less

Cons

Lots of drama due to politics between co-workers and sales. Have to deal with customers yelling at you, which happens more than I’d like to admit (mostly from frustrated, ignorant customers or PETA pushers). It takes a VERY specific kind of person to work at a place like this, and if you can make it, it can be very rewarding.

=====================================================================================

15 Sep 2017

“Very cliquey and uncomfortable to work here”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Strongsville, OH (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Animals are well taken care of. It’s really rewarding to work there just to see the dogs/cats/rabbits/etc. go home to good homes. The owner is also very understanding and nice.

Cons

The manager is best friends with the sales staff, which lets her “best friends” get away with everything. Also makes it very cliquey. I was not even taught everything that I should’ve known before going onto the floor, like going over the 4 basic needs sheet. Her justification for not going over it with me is that I did not sell enough dogs to get to that point and that we were too busy to do it. I’ll admit that I was not the best employee (selling dogs wise), but how I was treated was unacceptable. I was put on “probation” twice (each for 2 weeks, which meant that I can’t go on rooms, which meant that I couldn’t sell dogs (Which is what we’re there for…)) for messing up, even though people who have been there longer have messed up worse. Also very commission hungry, so everyone is on your back if you say one phrase to another person’s room, even if it was for a simple question and you grabbed the person helping them to go answer their question.Show Less

Advice to Management

Take care of the cliqueyness and rudness of your employees, even though one of the managers was the one who was the most rude to me. Better pay would also be in order, since during the slow months nobody sells enough dogs to make commission. What we do all day, we deserve at least $10/hour.

=====================================================================================

25 Jul 2017

“Great place to learn and grow”

Current Employee – Anonymous Employee

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland full-time

Pros

Great training and growth opportunities, annual staff reviews, great feedback structures. Canadian company .

Cons

Unsure right now of what they are

=====================================================================================

17 Jul 2017

Helpful (2)

“Not bad”

Current Employee – Pet Counciler in Batavia, IL (US)

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Its a very fun job with fun people

Cons

If youre not a good sales person the pay isnt too great

Advice to Management

More training

=====================================================================================

2 Aug 2017

“Petland isn’t a great company.”

Former Employee – Fish and Reptile Manager in Regina, SK (Canada)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time (More than a year)

Pros

Working with animals.
.
.
.
.
No other pros.

Cons

Wage.
Coworkers are lazy.
Managers don’t care.
No care for animal health or safety.
A LOT of drama.
Head Office only in it for money.
Do not care about animals.

Advice to Management

Step up. Animal safety and wellness comes before your want for money. Running a business with animals as the main source of income needs to be taken seriously and not just thrown under the bus. Animals are innocent creatures that depend on US to take care of them. And you can’t even do that.

=====================================================================================

9 Jul 2017

Helpful (1)

“Petland is the place to purchase your pets food and accessories”

Current Employee – Inventory Specialist in Kennesaw, GA (US)

I have been working at Petland full-time

Pros

I have been working for Petland for about 4. months and couldn’t be happier. I am an animal lover, specially dogs.
I am impressed by the quality of the different animals . The dogs come from reliable breeders and checked by veterinaries to ensure their health,
When purchasing a puppy from Petland you are asurred it’s health and given the information of a vet in the area for your first visit paid by Petland.
Also when you buy a puppy from Petland you are given a package that includes a cage along with vitamins, food and training material a one year warranty for the puppy health lifetime training classes to train your puppy. There are more items and support included in the package. You and your puppy will have a happy life and you will count with Petland’s support for the life of your puppyShow Less

Cons

People don’t know about Petland to really appreciate the service they provide

=====================================================================================

26 Jun 2017

Helpful (1)

“Family environment”

Former Employee – Manager in Chillicothe, OH (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

I worked at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

You are able to work with an amazing privately held company that truly treats you like family and you are able to work with pets.

Cons

There really aren’t any cons you if think you can your right, if you think you can’t your right.

Advice to Management

Continue to hire for upper management within.

=====================================================================================

23 Jun 2017

Helpful (1)

“Love Puppies”

Current Employee – Kennel Manager in Fort Myers, FL (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland full-time (More than 10 years)

Pros

I’ve worked there for over 16 years.
Puppies are treated With care and love.
Our Veterinarian works hand in hand with us to take care of them.
Puppies get excerised and weekly baths.

Cons

Messy job with lots of cleaning

=====================================================================================

26 Jul 2017

“Sales”

Former Employee – Sales Associate in Myrtle Beach, SC (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time (More than a year)

Pros

Proper pet care and and education encouraged and fun. Some bonuses.

Cons

As with most hourly positions . Turn over and raised are encouraged to promote management and salaried bonuses keeping over head low . Encouraged mostly by owners .

=====================================================================================

1 Jun 2017

Helpful (1)

“A great environment to work in”

Current Employee – Pet Counselor in Independence, MO (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

This is the best environment to work in everyone gets along pretty well and the managers and store owner are awesome people who motivate you and set off a great vibe

Cons

It’s mostly comission based the more you sell the more you make. You also do run into very rude customers but other than that nothing bad to say

=====================================================================================

7 Jul 2017

“Horrible place to work period”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time

Pros

There was only one good thing about working at petland and that was seeing people happy with their new pet.

Cons

You work on commission and they always seem to find a way to split your commission to put on the next check so you don’t make enough money

Advice to Management

Pay your employees better

=====================================================================================

26 May 2017

“If you care for animals, don’t work here.”

Former Employee – Kennel Technician in Fort Myers, FL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Discount, playing with animals, learn a lot

Cons

Mistreatment of animals, low pay, no opportunity for growth.

Advice to Management

Over 8 dogs puppies in my 6 months working there. The breeders are apparently lisenced and not puppy mills but when you look up the breeders, they have been written up by the USDA for horrible conditions. Dogs coming in covered in ticks and with parvo. Management and owners don’t care and say it’s normal when puppies die. A lot of stuff is pushed under the table and hidden. Actually care for the animals and what you’re doing. Don’t just do it for the money.

=====================================================================================

17 Apr 2017

“Meh.”

Former Employee – Kennel Technician in Topeka, KS (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Working with animals and coworkers were pretty nice. You get to not face the public if you work as a kennel technician.

Cons

Rules are vague, sales people have to meet quota, kennel tech work is dangerous for dogs and unfullfilling. Many animals suffer.

Advice to Management

Please hire on more than one kennel tech at a time. The work is impossible all by yourself.

=====================================================================================

6 May 2017

Helpful (1)

“Pet Counselor Nightmare”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Largo, FL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

Discount on most products in the store, no cap on commission.

Cons

No checks and balances on who gets the share of the commission, people steal commission or claim they did work they didn’t.

Advice to Management

Find an accountability solution to the commission pay. As I understand it if you hours you work are part-time say 20 hours a week. Then you get minimum wage, you have to make over the minimum wage you make that day to make any commission. Meaning you either make no money with minimum wage or whatever total commission for that day, Not both!

=====================================================================================

6 May 2017

“Horrible and over worked with bad management.”

Current Employee – Anonymous Employee

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

The puppies are the only good part although they are abused

Cons

Management
Abuse to animals
Poop and pee everywhere
Ovef worked
Low pay

Advice to Management

Management needs to get off their phones and computers and stop rushing the employees to do an 8 person job. Dont give us right ups for being sick. Dont only oay us 8 bucks. We need to be paid on time

=====================================================================================

22 Mar 2017

“Pet Counsolor”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

It’s a fast paced fun atmosphere. If you love animals, I would recommend this job to anyone. Pay is amazing considering you make commission. You learn about new dog breeds all the time and after 90 days you can take any puppy home for the night.

Cons

Management isn’t the best. Since it’s commission based, employees can get rude and try to steal sales. Few dogs get sick, but this happens often. You get written up for the smallest things.

Advice to Management

Don’t steal sales from the commission based employees if you’re making a salary. Be flexible with hours since most workers are in college.

=====================================================================================

23 Apr 2017

Helpful (2)

“Don’t get stuck here!”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee

Pros

Literally, just the puppies and even that is questionable. Employee discount for puppies are decent, if you haggle with the owner enough.

Cons

Minimum age for back-breaking work. Sales people are under so much pressure to sell $2k+ puppies. No benefits. Store managers treat you terribly and promise incentives for sales quotas but never deliver. And the puppies are from puppy mills, don’t let them tell you otherwise.

Advice to Management

Shut all the stores down, honestly.

=====================================================================================

9 Mar 2017

“Puppy Councelor”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee in Kennesaw, GA (US)

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

You make decent money and learn about new sales techniques everyday.

Cons

Management was too focused on sales numbers to the point of publicly berating employees who were not doing well. Can be stressful and the customers can be difficult to work with. Some employees were manipulative and would try to steal sales away from other employees.

=====================================================================================

16 Feb 2017

“Great Place to Work”

Current Employee – Sales Associate/Pet Counselor in Novi, MI (US)

I have been working at Petland part-time

Pros

The management treats their employees better than most other places I have worked at. They actually care about their employees and there are plenty of opportunities to make money through sales contests and through commission of puppies and supplies. Hours are usually very flexible if you need time off it is pretty easy to get it.

Cons

Very young and inexperienced staff. A lot of high school aged kids that work there and do not realize how easy the job is to make money at and there is a lot of complaining. It is hard to get the young staff to cover your shifts if you need it off but very easy to pick up other shifts if you want them. It is also impossible to move up in the company. You will 95% of the time stay as a sales associate (Pet Counselor) and if you are lucky you may move to assistant manager (Sales Lead) there is no room for growth after that. There also is a high turnover rate of employees because it is most of the staffs first job and they think it is overwhelming (it is not).Show Less

Advice to Management

Stop hiring young kids that it is there first job. Start hiring more competent people to staff the store.

=====================================================================================

15 Mar 2017

“Inhumane”

Former Employee – Sales Associate

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

Fun atmosphere, especially being able to play with puppies all day. Relaxed schedule.

Cons

The puppies were often unhealthy, and I investigated these “USDA licensed breeders”- that’s just a nice name for puppy mills. When the puppies passed away from sickness, they were put in the freezer. Makes sense logically, was just incredibly sad for the workers to witness. The pay scale for sales reps is 100% commission… not desirable.

=====================================================================================

23 Jan 2017

“Review”

Current Employee – Sales Associate in Novi, MI (US)

I have been working at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Get to play with dogs

Cons

Takes some time to learn all the breeds and their info

Advice to Management

Nothing really, things were fine

=====================================================================================

17 Jan 2017

“Don’t expect much”

Current Employee – Anonymous Employee

Pros

Meet some great customers as well as some great coworkers.
Everyone I worked with cared about the animals and worked their hardest to ensure they had proper care.

Cons

The pay is terrible. Make barely over min. wage and have worked as a supervisor within the company for a number of years.
Gossip is terrible and no one is held accountable for their actions.
Favouritism is rampant within the store.
A lot of rude customers who would demand unreasonable things.
Lack of training hours – yet new staff are expected to be perfect on their first shift

Advice to Management

Don’t become friends with staff as it creates a lot of conflict and unfairness.
Allot more hours for training.
Increase wages

=====================================================================================

19 Dec 2016

“Great place”

Current Employee – Zookeeper in Overland Park, KS (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

Pros

Playing and getting live frome the animales are great awsome people to work with

Cons

Not to many cons great place to work loving people and animales management is great

Advice to Management

Keep up the good work

=====================================================================================

11 Jan 2017

Helpful (1)

“Sales”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee

Pros

You get to spend time with adorable animals

Cons

poor wages
pressure to sell to people even when you know its not in their best interest to buy the product

Advice to Management

train your employees on the products and animal care

=====================================================================================

2 Dec 2016

Helpful (1)

“Pet Counselor”

Current Employee – Anonymous Employee

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

I have been working at Petland part-time

Pros

I get to play with animals all day and interact with interesting customers that come in

Cons

You have to clean up after all the animals.

=====================================================================================

13 Dec 2016

“Animal cruelty and cons of working for a huge franchise”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Crowfoot, AB (Canada)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland (Less than a year)

Pros

There were very few pros to working at Petland. I would say that the only real pro is that if you love animals its a great place to be for a while and that was initially why I took a job there.

Cons

The company refuses pay raises until you have worked there for over a year and the initial pay was 20 cents over minimum wage when I worked there.
Overage male employees constantly hitting on and harassing underage female employees with no repercussions
Animal cruelty
Poor management

Advice to Management

Revise your entire employee practices

=====================================================================================

15 Nov 2016

“Good place to start out”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee

Pros

Fun environment
Friendly coworkers
Working with pets is fulfilling

Cons

Ownership and management could be better

=====================================================================================

14 Nov 2016

“Manager”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee

Pros

-Working with animals daily
– Family friendly atmosphere

Cons

Minimum wage job
Working with unreliable kids

=====================================================================================

7 Nov 2016

“Alright work”

Former Employee – Sales Associate in Monroeville, PA (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time (More than 3 years)

Pros

Fast paced, animals are cute, early morning start, management needs work, alot of favoritism due to family owning it.

Cons

Morning work taking care of all animals, not much repercussions if people show up late, comission based and people steal sales.

Advice to Management

Stop having husband and wives working together, reprimand tardiness, make sure sales aren’t stolen.

=====================================================================================

15 Nov 2016

Helpful (4)

“Sales associate”

Former Employee – Retail Sales Associate in Naperville, IL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

I worked at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

The only Pro I got out of working here was explaining to each customer why not to shop here.

Cons

Being an animal lover, it’s the last place you want to work.
They lie to their customers about where they get their dogs from- YES some puppy mills. That’s why some dogs go down to $100 because if corporate sees those dogs, they will be shut down.

They only allow one kennel technician to work at a time which leaves them running around caring for over 50 dogs.

I was not trained adequately and quit within two weeks along with two other people.
Oh, and they keep dogs that are sick isolated in the back for weeks not letting them out.

IF YOU LOVE ANIMALS DO NOT WORK OR SHOP HERE.Show Less

Advice to Management

Instead of spending your “Goal reached” money on going to the Cheesecake Factory in a stretch limo (or whatever else you have planned for the month), spend the money on pulling your heads out of your bums and take care of the animals.

=====================================================================================

14 Sep 2016

Helpful (1)

“Solid job”

Current Employee – Kennel Technician in Batavia, IL (US)

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Good first job
Fairly easy
Get to play with pups
Discount after 90 days

Cons

No discount on pet food
Short staffed a lot of the time
Over work employees at times

Advice to Management

Hire more people

=====================================================================================

2 Aug 2016

Helpful (1)

“Sales Associate”

Former Employee – Sales Associate in Dunwoody, GA (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

Pros

Helpful managers, commission incentives, and opportunity to learn about and handle pets such as newborn puppies, kittens, ferrets, and more.

Cons

Animal clean-up, dealing with price-haggling customers, and difficulty meeting sales numbers during the dead months.

Advice to Management

Management is very helpful and will review sales goals and daily/weekly numbers with the employee. They will offer good tips and tactics and are there to answer any questions when necessary.

=====================================================================================

1 Sep 2016

Helpful (2)

“Stay Away”

Former Employee – Kennel Technician in Batavia, IL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

I worked at Petland full-time (More than a year)

Pros

Huge discount on pet supplies

Cons

Puppies were all sick
Management cared about money and nothing else
You never get raises
Nothing you do is appreciated.

Advice to Management

Stop buying from puppy mills. Treat your employees like human beings.

=====================================================================================

1 Jul 2016

Helpful (1)

“Good for someone who needs specific times to work”

Current Employee – Online Customer Service Representative in Marine City, MI (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

I have been working at Petland (More than a year)

Pros

Good Salary, Benefits, Awesome Boss.

Cons

Lots of hours, Multiple weeks at a time.

=====================================================================================

27 May 2016

“Supervisor”

Current Employee – Anonymous Employee

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland part-time

Pros

Get to work with animals, fun environment

Cons

Management makes some confounding decisions

=====================================================================================

21 Jun 2016

“Petland Hostile Work Environment”

Former Employee – Sales Associate in Chicago Ridge, IL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland (Less than a year)

Pros

Substantial bonus opportunities. Provides a good foundation for veterinary career.

Cons

Pressure from management creates hostile work environment. Owner of store at Chicago Ridge, IL location was verbally abusive in front of customers. Treatment of animals was abysmal. Store employees did the best they could to care for animals that were dropped off already sick from breeders that were more concerned with quantity production that health.

Advice to Management

Make sure opportunities for bonuses are fairly distributed

=====================================================================================

26 Apr 2016

“Sale focused!”

Current Employee – Pet Counselor in Las Vegas, NV (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

Pros

It’s fun and rewarding to sell puppies.
It’s fast paced so time goestrogen by quickly.

Cons

They don’t prepare you for working there at all
It’s a high stress environment
Its all about sales sales sales

Advice to Management

Care more about your new employees. Especially the ones that want to do a good job. Help them out.

=====================================================================================

14 May 2016

“awful! terrible training.”

Former Employee – Sales Associate in Fairfax, VA (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

fun work
easy going work
puppies!
loved the animals there

Cons

bad training
unprepared
work off of commission

Advice to Management

have a better training system.

=====================================================================================

13 Feb 2016

“Family business”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

I worked at Petland (Less than a year)

Pros

Family oriented company is fun

Cons

Family oriented company can be stressful.

Advice to Management

Care about the people more and labour less.

=====================================================================================

17 Feb 2016

Helpful (1)

“Disorganized”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Winnipeg, MB (Canada)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Discounts, interesting classes, bonding with animals,

Cons

unpaid classes they sign you up for, cut your hours if you perform badly, horrible training

I had to sell an average of 45$ each hour, and help an average of 7 customers. I worked in the fish and reptile department where people would come in and buy one little fish to add to their tank, I couldn’t exactly convince them to buy any more when they didn’t have the space for it. My boss was horribly immature, and my supervisor had a god complex. They’d pull you aside and critique you to the point of tears, and then throw you back on the floor.

Also, they’d send you home if you didn’t hit your goal.Show Less

Advice to Management

Better training, lower your expectations, we’re being paid minimum wage and not making commission, more set realistic goals, make your staff feel good about themselves, don’t tear them down.

=====================================================================================

1 Feb 2016

“3 years, they promoted other people :/”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Jacksonville, FL (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

Pros

Friendly environment. The aquatics department actually takes care of their animals, unlike bigger chains I’ve worked at.

Cons

I got employed at the wrong place at the wrong time. They hired someone a few months before me. And this individual became terrible to work with immediately. There is no room for moving up in management.

Advice to Management

Man up. Fire someone if they deserve it. I’m tired of seeing a second chance turn into 6th or seventh chance.

=====================================================================================

27 Feb 2016

“Puppy counselor”

Former Employee – Puppy Counselor in Lake Saint Louis, MO (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Everyone who worked there became a family and it made me actually want to go to work. The puppies always put me in a great mood, and the pay was fantastic.

Cons

The management is horrible. Completely horrible. Everyone who works there gets fired eventually for something, even for something stupid. The drama between coworkers is nuts. I’ve seen fights, tears, and yelling. The workers are filled with lies about the pets. And absolutely no training whatsoever.

Advice to Management

Stop firing dedicated workers who work their butt off for the company.

=====================================================================================

14 Jan 2016

“sales”

Current Employee – Anonymous Employee

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

Pros

make good money if you sell lots of puppies

Cons

too much streth u have to deal with people steal ur sell all the time

=====================================================================================

7 Jan 2016

“Very fast paced exciting work atmosphere.”

Former Employee – Dog Sales in Mount Vernon, OH (US)

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Getting to work with different kinds of animals. Animals are well taken care of. Friendly coworkers. Good management. Pay is decent.

Cons

Commission….health insurance. Not enough work hours. Horrible boss but she’s been fired after all these years. Not too many bad things to say.

Advice to Management

Training their new employees longer.

=====================================================================================

6 Feb 2016

Helpful (2)

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

Former Employee – Cashier/Pet Counselor in Orlando, FL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

I worked at Petland (Less than a year)

Pros

Get the chance to make families happy and finding the best match for them, whether that’s a dog, cat, fish, etc. Also being around so many great animals.

Cons

The animals are all sick. They are from puppy mills, and I saw at least twenty puppies die within my six months of being an employee of Petland. I also got a bacteria infection from the dogs, so they fired to me avoid a lawsuit.

Advice to Management

Close your store immediately. Or get healthy non-puppy mill dogs and cats.

=====================================================================================

30 Dec 2015

“A Great Place to Work”

Current Employee – Anonymous Employee

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

I absolutely love my job at Petland, the commission is amazing, and you are given opportunity to make as much money as you want. They are extremely flexible with hours and everyone gets along great. You are given all of the tools you need to succeed.
Plus you get to interact with puppied and people all day!

Cons

Offering health insurance would be awesome, I have to pay $300+ out-of-pocket each month. If Petland offered benefits like health insurance to its employees, that would help out a lot.

I understand that stores are separately owned, so establishing that across every store may not be easy.

Advice to Management

Please find a way to offer health insurance to all employees, as well as FMLA and paid vacation (of course paid vacation being earned over time)

=====================================================================================

23 Jan 2016

Helpful (1)

“Small animal manager”

Current Employee – Small Animal Manager in Calgary, AB (Canada)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland full-time

Pros

Take care of cute animals
make a difference in a consumer driven industry

Cons

0 respect from any corporate staff
any raise promised to you better be witnessed by a lawyer or it won’t go through.
witness a lot of abuse from customers

Advice to Management

Don’t promise raises that aren’t going to come.
Stop verbally abusing staff

=====================================================================================

13 Jan 2016

Helpful (1)

“Lazy staff”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time

Pros

The animals are really the only good part of working here.

Cons

My co workers were very lazy and cages were often left un-clean and animals were not fed. A lot of the time the fruits and veggies were not chopped and given to the animals. The treatment of the birds was horrendous as many of my co-workers would just grab at the bird and stress them out then wonder why they were biting. No mention was made of how to properly train birds (Positive reinforcement) there was also a lot of standing around doing nothing as there was nothing to do. Being a part time employee as well I was barely ever told anything and was left to guess. There were a lot of people being fired because the boss did not like them.Show Less

Advice to Management

Tell the part time workers things, take better care of the birds and start making sure the cages are clean

=====================================================================================

15 Dec 2015

Helpful (3)

“Abusive to animals and employees”

Former Employee – Kennel Technician in Chicago Ridge, IL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Positive Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Relevant experience if you’re interested in veterinary medicine. If you work in the kennel (with the animals, not on the sales floor) some vets will offer to formally train you based on your knowledge and experience gained working for Petland.

This location had great employees. The owner of the store was cruel, but most of the employees were aware of his harsh ways and tried to help each other out.

Cons

At the Chicago Ridge, IL location the owner Jim is really tough on his employees. Selling puppies is how they make the largest profit so you have an unofficial “quota”. If you sell enough, then you’ll be fine. If you for any reason do not, expect your every move on the sales floor to be analyzed and questioned. For example, while helping a customer Jim once came over to us and in front of the customer started questioning my “sales pitch” in such a rude and aggressive manner that when he finally walked away the customer actually apologized to me even though he had done nothing wrong. He said to me that he was disgusted with how Jim spoke to me and that he would buy what I had been showing him to try and not make my life worse but he would never come back to that location.

Also, all the horrible puppy mill stories are 100% true. I witnessed a french bulldog puppy die due to heart failure. Poor and irresponsible breeding resulted in health problems in nearly every puppy that came through the doors. Respiratory issues, heart problems, joint issues, and much more. This is mainly why this job gives you relevant experience if you’re considering moving on to veterinary medicine. Working in the kennel is basically keeping those poor puppies alive long enough to sell them to customers that are more often than not oblivious to the underlying health problems.Show Less

Advice to Management

Stop focusing on the almighty dollar. Have some compassion for your animals and employees and for the love of god if you’re going to reprimand an employee don’t do it in front of the customers.

=====================================================================================

3 Dec 2015

“Fun and upbeat.”

Former Employee – Sales in Independence, MO (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland (More than 5 years)

Pros

Knowledge is power and they try their best to fill you with everything to be successful. They also give you the power to make you as successful as you want to be.

Cons

Slow days consist of a lot of standing around and pet stores get a bad reputation. They need more details on their breeders to provide to the customers.

Advice to Management

Try and be more productive with down time. Just because your the manager doesn’t mean you can’t help with some of the grunge work.

=====================================================================================

2 Nov 2015

“Pet Sales”

Current Employee – Salesman in Orlando, FL (US)

I have been working at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Great fast paced commission driven job

Cons

Time of year really determines sales

=====================================================================================

16 Aug 2015

“Great experience! So many things to learn from coworkers and customers”

Former Employee – Sales Manager in Gallipolis, OH (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time (More than 3 years)

Pros

Helping pet parents with their animals needs
Meeting people who have the same passion for pets as you
Who doesn’t love working with furry and scaly creatures?

Cons

Sales competition can be tough
So many things to pick up on
Many pet parents do NOT like any guidance

Advice to Management

Upper management doesn’t look through the eyes of their workers. They don’t seem to understand what happens on the floor.

=====================================================================================

16 Sep 2015

Helpful (4)

“Take my advice…don’t work there!!!”

Former Employee – Animal Care Technician in Hoffman Estates, IL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

The only pro was the staff that I worked with, they were all fun people. Working with the animals was enjoyable.

Cons

It was not pleasant seeing the dogs kept in those type of conditions. Tons of dogs all locked up together in these tiny caged enclosures. Then weekly every Monday, they would get a new shipment of dogs arriving on these semi trucks. They were kept in crates traveling on a truck for who knows how long. They were inspected like a piece of meat, and then pushed into these tiny cages. It’s so sad when you are there to witness all of this.Show Less

Advice to Management

There should be better conditions for the dogs, and there should not be 5 or more dogs all locked together in a tiny space…these are not humane conditions.

=====================================================================================

12 Aug 2015

Helpful (3)

“Former Employee Review”

Former Employee – Sales Representative/Animal Handler/Customer Service in Columbus, GA (US)

Recommends

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland (Less than a year)

Pros

Puppies, ferrets, cute customers, sweet families, commission, kittens, lizards, helping customers reach logical solutions for themselves and their pets

Cons

I was always pushed to pressure customers into financing and higher priced merchandise. I missed every puppy that came and went.

=====================================================================================

29 Jul 2015

Helpful (4)

“So-So”

Current Employee – Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Positive Outlook

I have been working at Petland full-time

Pros

Pay is decent if you fight for it, but each store is a Franchise.
Sanitation is important
Takes reasonable good care of animals

Cons

Management of Puppy Counselors is usually Non-Existent
Staff is rude to customers and fellow co-workers on occasion
Inconsistent handling of complaints and claims from customers
Origin of puppies sold is up to the Franchise owner with only some restrictions

Advice to Management

MANAGE the staff, let the manager manage and the owner own- there should be no gray areas here. Treat all employees with respect and fairness. Offer healthcare, paid vaca, and other standard benefits- this should be a given considering the most stores make millions each year.

=====================================================================================

2 Jun 2015

Helpful (1)

“Petland Fort Myers Florida”

Former Employee – Supervisor in Fort Myers, FL (US)

Recommends

Positive Outlook

I worked at Petland full-time (More than 3 years)

Pros

Great fun job if you love working with animals, puppies come from great breeders, all usda inspected. Staff is friendly and store is very clean.

Cons

Puppies are a little overpriced, sales floor gets very competitive , pay is hourly and commission based. Also company does not offer 401K, Sick time or vacation.

Advice to Management

Offer Sick/Vacation Time

=====================================================================================

1 May 2015

Helpful (2)

“Small Animal care manager”

Former Employee – Small Animal Care Manager in Calgary, AB (Canada)

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

They really put a lot of effort into the care of their animals, store is usually very well staffed and easy to maintain

Cons

Very poor management, they don’t pay attention to their employees very well I never even got my 3 month review which was supposed to include a raise, the pay could be a lot better for the bigger jobs they have people doing

Advice to Management

Pay more attention to your staff they work at a fairly low wage the least you could do is listen to them or give a raise every now and then to those who deserve it and if none of them do then maybe you should think about replacing your management so you can stop having those people hired

=====================================================================================

3 Jun 2015

Helpful (3)

“Kennel Tech Job”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee in Iowa City, IA (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time

Pros

I have always enjoyed working with animals so I figured this was a good job for me. I was able to get experience with giving basic medication to the animals. When you finish your chores and daily tasks you are also usually able to play with the animals too which is nice. The discount on products in the store for employees is half off. My kennel manager worked really well with my schedule and always put the pets needs ahead of all else.Show Less

Cons

Being a kennel tech means cleaning…a lot. You have to be okay with cleaning up poop, puke, and anything else that could possibly come out of an animal. The sales people only care about selling the dogs while the kennel techs (at least where I worked) actually cared about the well being of the animals. The owner of my store put money over the health of the animals. He refused to pay a vet bill and let an eight week old puppy die in the store instead of allowing us to take it to the vet because he didn’t want to pay the vet fees.Show Less

Advice to Management

Management needs to care more about the well being of the animals. They are already overpriced ($2,400 for a puppy they bought for $400) so the management has plenty of extra money to pay for vet fees.

=====================================================================================

10 May 2015

Helpful (2)

“It was very unprofessional and everyone, including the boss, was very rude and inconsiderate.”

Former Employee – Anonymous

I worked at Petland part-time

Pros

I was able to work with the animals hands on and gained a lot of experience while working at Petland for the 4 months.

Cons

I was treated badly and was paid minimum wage, which I felt was not enough for the amount of work that was placed on my shoulders.

Advice to Management

To Petland: Do not treat your employees with disrespect and you won’t end up losing everyone that had worked there. If your attitude is always negative than so is your’ store.

=====================================================================================

16 Apr 2015

Helpful (1)

“Pet Counselor”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland full-time

Pros

Great, competitive pay
good benefits if you have an animal

Cons

can be overly competitive
had some people stealing sales
petland will be your life

Advice to Management

make a better way of documenting sales

=====================================================================================

12 Mar 2015

Helpful (3)

“Forced to sell living breathing puppies the same way you would sell a car…”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Davie, FL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

I worked at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

Nice commission if you sell a pricier dog, discounts on pet supplies, you get to cuddle with the puppies during slower times.

Cons

They expect you to sell at least one dog per shift. It was extremely unrealistic and I felt that the pressure to sell was overwhelming. Sometimes it was like I was tricking families into buying an animal that they didn’t need nor that I thought they would be able to care for.

Advice to Management

Stop pushing us to sell in such an aggressive manner. Just because a family can afford a dog, doesn’t mean that they need a dog.

=====================================================================================

27 Feb 2015

Helpful (3)

“Not a good experience”

Current Employee – Pet Counselor in Henderson, NV (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

Pros

Potential for good money and flexible hours.

Cons

Ridiculously over-priced and unreasonable managers.

Advice to Management

Give raises when earned

=====================================================================================

18 Feb 2015

Helpful (2)

“AW-FUL”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Overland Park, KS (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

good pay, only work 25 hours a week and I make around 27,000 per year.

Cons

owners and managers are corrupt. Dogs die on a regular basis, everyone is treated awful. Very rude management, and owner is always drunk.

Advice to Management

respect your employees and they’ll respect you.

=====================================================================================

8 Jan 2015

Helpful (3)

“Too much work, not enough employees.”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Independence, MO (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

Pros

The best part about it, of course, was being able to snuggle puppies all the time. And the puppy kisses! My coworkers were nice, sometimes. I also really enjoyed getting the puppies out to play. They get so excited and I feel happy knowing that they get to play and be happy at least for a little bit. I would always thank the people that just come in to play with the puppies. I would never try to sell them the puppy if I could tell that they weren’t ready for one, or they don’t have enough money because they are doing a good deed by letting that puppy get out for a while. Another thing I really enjoyed was sending a puppy home. I only did it once but it was a great feeling to know that I matched a great puppy with a great home.Show Less

Cons

The worst part about this job is dealing with the boss. She wants it done how she wants it and if you don’t do that, then you are going to hear about it from her. She also is not very sensitive to peoples feelings, except for customers of course. She just wants you to work when she wants you to work. She will work around a school schedule but that’s about it. I am in college 5 days a week 8:30AM to 12:30PM and she would schedule me for 2PM to Close almost every night. I didn’t have time to go home, eat something, relax and get ready for work because my school is 30 min away from me, so that cuts down time. So I would get ready for work at school and eat lunch at some fast food restaurant, which made me so broke by the way, and maybe go home to relax for maybe 10 minutes. It was terrible. I was exhausted. Another thing is that it is really hard to sell those puppies. Prices range from $1,699 to $4399 and most people that live where I live do not want to pay that much for a dog. When I told people the price for the puppy they were playing with, most of them would gasp and say “Oh my god! Why is he/she so expensive?” and I would have to explain that they come with this and this and they are pure bred with papers and everything. It was really hard to convince people to pay that much since I am not a pushy person. And the people that were interested would get approved for financing and have a sky high interest rate or they wouldn’t get approved at all because of their income which is normal for around here. There aren’t a lot of wealthy people here. Which is why people are so shocked by the price. Oh, and the pay is terrible too. I got paid minimum wage or my commission and it was so hard to make commission because no one was buying puppies. And to even make your commission you have an outrageous sales goal. It is just an all around bad place to work. For me at least.Show Less

Advice to Management

Set achievable sales goals, improve the training methods, raise pay, work with financing companies that don’t charge so much interest so people aren’t sucked dry of their resources every month because they bought a petland puppy.

=====================================================================================

27 Oct 2014

Helpful (1)

“It was a decent first job choice.”

Former Employee – Adveritisment Specialist in Wichita, KS (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Flexible hours, ability for raises, friendly staff and managers; as well as decent owners and commissions. Various jobs and 8% on all commisionable items in the store. As well was discounts

Cons

Some of the jobs are not the best. You are busy all the time as a kennel tech. You get paid $7.25 per hour regardless of position excluding managers. Some work is outside.

Advice to Management

Raise the wages of kennel techs, sales associates, and Advertising Specialists to attract more employees.

=====================================================================================

28 Aug 2014

Helpful (1)

“Great company to work for!”

Former Employee – Retail Sales in Amherst, OH (US)

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Being hands on with animals, and dealing with ensuring they are placed I excellent homes.

Cons

Sometimes the days were challengingly slow.

Advice to Management

None that I can think of

=====================================================================================

22 Aug 2014

Helpful (2)

“Don’t work here”

Current Employee – Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA (US)

I have been working at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

None, they get their puppies from puppy mills

Cons

Terrible place to work, don’t go here because they get their puppies from puppy mills.

=====================================================================================

30 May 2014

Helpful (2)

“Great job but terrible management”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

Handling and caring for the animals, learning something new everyday, great coworkers and good hours.

Cons

Tough customers, unprofessional management, little positive reinforcement, long days and high expectations for a minimum wage job.

Advice to Management

Employees want to be treated with respect, not put down and yelled at. Monitor how managers are treating their employees.

=====================================================================================

2 Feb 2014

Helpful (1)

“Fun, always learning something new!”

Current Employee – Fish Specialist in Belleville, MI (US)

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland part-time (More than 5 years)

Pros

Play with pets, cool customers, learn a lot about retail and pets. Great management team that worked with employees and cared.

Cons

Hard to make commission unless you sell dogs. Other workers then are automatically at a disadvantage.

Advice to Management

Give franchisees more help in order to keep them afloat in case problems occur. In the same state, certain stores did a million times better than others and vice versa.

=====================================================================================

29 Jan 2014

Helpful (1)

“it was a fun vibe in the workplace”

Current Employee – Pet Counselor in Chicago Ridge, IL (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

the animals are fun and its a way to grow

Cons

not a team member type of place

=====================================================================================

3 Oct 2013

Helpful (2)

“Horrible, mistreats most animals except for its puppies”

Current Employee – Anonymous Employee

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

– Potential to make a lot of money
– Get to work with animals

Cons

– Competitive comission-based environment breeds terrible co-workers
– Hard to look at the mistreatment of some animals (rats just dying and eating themselves in the back room, reptiles just left to die)
– Management thinks they are gods

Advice to Management

– Step down off your high-horses.
– Spread the workload a little more evenly, quit putting more work on certain employees.
– Try not to be so mean.

=====================================================================================

26 Jul 2013

Helpful (1)

“Great, depending on the managers and minus all the drama going on in the departments.”

Current Employee – Pet Counselor

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland full-time (Less than a year)

Pros

The staff, interaction with animals, the training.

Cons

Lot’s of drama with other stores, managers that don’t know how to manage.

Advice to Management

Learn how to motivate a team not make us hate going into work whenever you’re there.
Speaking about the location I’m at specifically, stop berating us and treating the staff like POS when you clearly don’t know what you’re doing.

=====================================================================================

2 May 2013

Helpful (3)

“Great place to work : )”

Current Employee – Kennel Technician in Fort Myers, FL (US)

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

I’m a kennel tech
-great, funny, and friendly coworkers both in kennel and for the most part in sales
-actually became friends with manager and my assistant manager : ) (all around the same age)
-got hired quickly
-not too stressful, pretty easy tasks
-music playing to help get through the day
-employee discounts that goes toward everything in the store including puppies!
-get to take care of puppies of course! : )
-get to wear comfy scrubs in any color or design and sneakers (NON SLIP!!!)
-dont interact with customers alot since I work “behind the scenes”Show Less

Cons

-having to be there early in the morning to feed puppies and clean the puppy kennels (Not a morning person, bleh)
-lots of bleach is used to clean, granted its diluted with water, but it still gets to me a lot. It’s best to get out of the bleaching area to get fresh air, once the big morning cleaning is done.
-friendly but sometimes bossy coworkers, just be sure to straighten them out early on.
-got to be able to lift moderately heavy metal objects, be near bleach, dawn soap, and other disinfectants, clean bugs (ex.feeder crickets) eek! (My manager will do it since im sqeemish those crickets can get big!)
-watch out for puppy poo or pee! Sometimes it gets on your skin even when your careful and wearing gloves. Just wash with soap and hot water asap.
-very repetitive job, same thing every day..great for a temporary job while in school but not forever.
-no raises…
– but none of these cons are a big deal except for that last one : )Show Less

Advice to Management

Love my managers, great people!! : ) wish owners would fix up the back or buy new things for us kennel techs to work with. Some things have seen better days and gotta go. And how about raises for employees that have worked for a year and great work ethic?

=====================================================================================

21 Mar 2013

Helpful (2)

“petland”

Current Employee – Pet Councilor in Columbus, OH (US)

Recommends

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland part-time (More than a year)

Pros

6% commission on everything you sell except dog food
great hours and compatible scheduling
fun and learning experiences

Cons

sales competition
some rude and time wasting customers
if you dont sell puppies you dont stay employed
no benefits and work close to 40 hours a week if employed for over a few months

Advice to Management

appreciate your employees for the hard work that they do rather than the numbers they produce…

=====================================================================================

25 Mar 2013

Helpful (3)

“Pretty sucky first job as a cashier, but at least there were bunnies”

Former Employee – Cashier in Lewisville, TX (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Negative Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

– Their sheer selection of different types of animals was amazing!!! At my location in Lewisville, TX (no longer open) you could buy hedgehogs, ferrets, rabbits (the only source in my area and a large factor in applying), chinchillas, macaws, African Greys, puppies of all breeds, kittens, snakes, iguanas and other lizards, frogs, and fish.
– If you wanted a specific breed of animal or exotic pet, managers offered to order for you.
– Took advantage of the designer dog breed fad. We offered puggles, maltipoos, and golden doodles
– A large variety of men and women worked on the sales floor. Perhaps half of them were tattooed, highly pierced, or generally unconventional looking. This was a huge plus for me as I admire companies that don’t discriminate.Show Less

Cons

– Puppies were officially declared to be obtained from “private breeders,” but I heard salespeople and kennel workers voice doubts.
– My pay was a measly $7 an hour. (I was sixteen and inexperienced.)
– A full day on my feet (9 hours) earned me $56 after taxes and deductions.
– Frequently worked until 11 pm closing on weekday nights.
– Cashiers usually got bathroom-cleaning duty, and often cleaned the small animal petters (animal pens.)
– Lunch breaks were 30 minutes.
– Was not allowed to earn sales commission as well as the hourly rate, unlike salespersons. (I wasn’t told this despite encouragement to sell small animals anyway… that paycheck was a surprise.)
– Cashiers bagged live crickets at any reptile owner’s request. Also sold mealworms and baby mice as feeders for snakes, so you had to be okay with that.
– After six months of employment I was not considered for a raise even though I had been making minimum wage and was a reliable, responsible worker.
– Animals sometimes became sick and taken back into the kennel for isolated care for a few days. I don’t know what happened to the ones who didn’t recover.Show Less

Advice to Management

Give your minimum-wage earners raises to keep their interest, or allow sales commission along with a poor hourly rate (assuming making sales wouldn’t interfere with cashiering duties.) Obtain your puppies from responsible breeders.

=====================================================================================

4 Dec 2012

Helpful (3)

“Okay conditions, but prefer not to work here anymore”

Current Employee – Kennel Technician in Columbus, OH (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I have been working at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

You get to work around animals, especially puppies. Helping animals and keeping them clean and healthy is self-rewarding. You get a good discount on some items. Our owner is nice and most of the other employees are nice, sometimes fun(a lot of the sales are college students).

Cons

Where do I start? Although things are kept clean, almost all the puppies that come in are sick. Working in the narrow kennel in the back with all the barking can really hurt your head. If you’re not in the best of health like me the work can almost hurt you more-I passed out three times once and was told if I was feeling better to stay and work. They are not very reasonable if you feel sick and some techs complain to me when another leaves with the flu saying stuff like they should suck it up. The sales people just want to sell, sell, sell and there is a lot of competition and drama involved with them. One sales person at the store I work sold a pup with a heart condition that wasn’t supposed to be sold. I tried to tell them that, but they refused to listen and sold it anyway and I got in trouble for it.. I’m not sure how much they buy the pups for, or the birds from the bad breeder we have, but they turn around and sell them with their poor quality for nearly 3times more than you can pay for a good healthy animal from a breeder or shelter.. We do medicate and give vaccinations, but I don’t think that improves their health. Overall, I feel like I’m just helping take care of poor-quality animals and therefor helping a store cheat unknowing customers for extra cash.Show Less

Advice to Management

Completely remove the concept of commission or extra money for the sales people if they sell pups, birds, kittens, etc.. Also reduce prices on these animals. They are NOT worth the amount they’re sold! In fact, they should not be sold at all. Consider using the kennels to host and feature pups and animals from local breeders and shelters. For example, a breeder can pay a small fee to have their littler of pups displayed in the windows. Then for each pup sold as for maybe 10% of the profit. Charge smaller fee for rescue animals or shelter animals and take no profit from it since it’s a shelter/rescue animal. Lower prices on supplies and food, too. It’s just so expensive. Also don’t get birds directly from a breeder to sell UNLESS that breeder is confirmed to be a good breeder. Also don’t house the birds in cubes with bedding like the other animals. House birds in cages, helps them better to adjust to new homes and also makes it easier to clean and keep them from being stolen/fly away. Although handfeeding is a fun attraction so many things can go wrong and it should be left to the breeder, not kennel techs. One I work with doesn’t even like birds, they don’t have the passion to handle them properly in all cases.
Also, higher more kennel techs. There are not enough techs at the store I work, and it’s a big store so there’s a lot of pressure to come in and get work done if ONE person can’t. I am going to start looking for another job because I just cannot work with the schedule and constantly being asked to cover other people, I passed out three times one morning and could not get someone to cover me and was even expected to continue working if I felt better. Thing was, I felt perfectly fine before I passed out, then it just happened.. Focus more on getting people good quality animals with reasonable prices and good prices on healthy foods than making profit. Poor birds at the store are not even fed a good diet, causes premature death(seed diet) and beak growth. Pellets and TONS of fresh foods, invest in that, not puppy mill pups or sick snotty pups, some are so nasty I don’t want to touch them.

=====================================================================================

30 Oct 2012

Helpful (1)

“An overall decent business”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee

Pros

They have everything available, the staff is friendly and well informed of the animals.

Cons

You can expect to wait at LEAST 10 minutes to get assistance, they CLEARLY don’t have enough staff.

Advice to Management

Try to be more attentive to customers that need your help.

=====================================================================================

15 Oct 2012

“Fun job, Hard work”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor

Recommends

Positive Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (More than 3 years)

Pros

I enjoyed all the people and animals that I worked with. The job pays well based on how well you do, which motivates me to work harder.

Cons

Can be a stinky job, often having to clean up animal messes and other things.

=====================================================================================

9 Oct 2012

Helpful (2)

“Most 2 faced, unprofessional employer I have ever had!! EVER!!!!!”

Former Employee – Kennel Technician in Pickerington, OH (US)

Doesn’t Recommend

Neutral Outlook

CEO

I worked at Petland part-time (Less than a year)

Pros

Discounts on pet food and store products. Most of the staff is quite friendly.

Cons

Managers tell you who you can and can’t be friends with outside of work. Management hired a lot of personal friends outside of work and does not enforce store policies upon employees equally and show a lot of favoritism. The managers seem to have problems with teamwork and divide groups of people and seem to enforce this quite strongly. The management will also corner you, as they did me, and I felt so uncomfortable working in the store that I reported what was going on to corporate offices and was subsequently fired for this! Kennel manager would also change schedule without making me aware of the changes, so I had days I thought I had off where I was called in and I showed up for other shifts that I had been scheduled, only to find out I was crossed off and someone else was put in my place. Inconsistent in every way I can think of!Show Less

Advice to Management

Stop blowing small things out of proportion, stop hiring all your friends and ganging up on the rest of the crew, and give credit where credit is due. Promote teamwork, don’t discourage it. Don’t instigate problems in the workplace. Don’t punish people who are simply defending themselves. Overall, grow up!!!!

=====================================================================================

16 Aug 2011

Helpful (2)

“A fun place to work”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL (US)

Recommends

CEO

Pros

Adorable puppies, Fun, love co workers

Cons

smells bad and better love animals

=====================================================================================

24 May 2011

“very good place to work”

Current Employee – Matchmaker

Recommends

CEO

Pros

great wages, work on commission, good learning experience

Cons

unpredictable pay, little advancement opportunities

Advice to Management

very well organized

=====================================================================================

8 Mar 2011

Helpful (2)

“Amazing opportunity for growth in sales experience and amazing company culture.”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Fort Myers, FL (US)

Recommends

CEO

Pros

Constant feedback on performance.
Treated as an equal and with much respect by all.
You can determine how much you can make according to performance.
Very kind employers.
Clean work environment.

Cons

Average salary if unable to achieve sales.
Competitive atmosphere can occasionally cause issues between employees.
Some extra “dirty” work maintaining animal care.

Advice to Management

Look into different ways of decreasing the intensity of competition for sales between employees being as it can occasionally cause problems.

=====================================================================================

27 Mar 2011

Helpful (2)

“I have never worked so hard for a company that doesn’t care about their employees and I regret it.”

Current Employee – Third Key

Doesn’t Recommend

CEO

Pros

steady hours.
work with animals.
store discount.

Cons

the people hired generally know NOTHING about animals or taking care of them.
if you request a salary of 7.50 you are started at 7.25.
animals frequently come in sick.

Advice to Management

learn about the live stock YOU ARE SELLING IT.
straighten out priorities.
be friendlier to customers.
train employees IT”S YOUR JOB.
pay your employees the appropriate money for there work WE ARE TAKING CARE OF LIVE ANIMALS.

=====================================================================================

30 Dec 2010

Helpful (2)

“Fun at first, then the competition begins on how many puppies you can sell”

Former Employee – Anonymous Employee in Lake St Louis, MO (US)

CEO

Pros

Fun if you love animals, you get to interact with animals all day.

Cons

Once you’ve worked there about a week or so, they start to get very angry with you if you dont sell a puppy to every person that gets the puppy out to play with. You get disrespected and yelled at for not forcing sales of puppies on people. The management expects you to sale a puppy to anyone even if they don’t seem that interested. They’re all about the money.

Advice to Management

Don’t be so forceful and pushy in your puppy sales and respect your workers better.

=====================================================================================

19 Jul 2009

Helpful (1)

“Owner/Operated stores. Fun environment but no opportunity.”

Current Employee – Retail Sales in Niles, IL (US)

CEO

Pros

Decent discount, animals are fun to handle, decent amount of responsibility, and the amount of ephasis on respecting animals is great.

Cons

Low wages, dead end job, not much experienced to be gained unless you get a promotion to a supervisor position

Advice to Management

Dont focus so much on selling puppy’s. The focus should be put on how to reach out to the community with services geared towards the animals they already own and the potential anaimls they want to buy.

=====================================================================================

4 May 2009

Helpful (2)

“good place to work”

Former Employee – Pet Counselor in Wichita, KS (US)

Recommends

Pros

fast paced, fun environment. always somthing to be done, and an oppurtunity to get familiar with different animals

Cons

long hours, low pay for the work, high turnover, and sometimes a lack of communication with employees from the management when it comes to new ideas. sale of sick animals from time to time, having to see some animals die slowly, spliting commissions more ways then they should be split.

Advice to Management

giving employees some heads up before making big decisions, also more structure when it comes to spliting commissions. a larger building would help keep the store from getting so crammed on busy days.

=====================================================================================

9 Mar 2009

Helpful (3)

“Not bad for a summer job, couldn’t stand to work here too long.”

Former Employee – Kennel Technician

Doesn’t Recommend

Pros

There were a lot of college kids working there with me, so I had plenty of people to relate to. The enviroment is friendly and cheerfull in the main part of the store. Customer after customer walks into the building and swoons over the adorable pets. While working the kennel, we always had CDs and MP3 players over the speakers, so that helped pass time. The second shifts are easy-peasy compared to the morning shifts. Taking care of the animals is self-rewarding. Management was fairly leniet with breaks and very understanding if you were sick. It served well as a summer job, but was tough to juggle with college classes.Show Less

Cons

The pressure at the time I was working there was immense at one point because of the ASPCA scandal. When you realise how much Petland actually pays for the dogs and where they come from, then how much they turn around and sell them for it becomes rather discomforting. I was promised pay raises time and time again, however I never recieved any raises past minimum wage while co-workers , hired months after me, did. This was really unsettling because I had always considered myself one of the most adament technicians. Also, the pressure for the sales associates was huuuge, often resulting in people arguing over what percent of the sell they would share with another coworker or flat out sell stealing.Show Less

Advice to Management

Don’t tell bold faced lies to even your employees about the origins of the dogs and don’t shove your desperation and stress onto us.

=====================================================================================